Editorial Policies

Focus and Scope

Puncta is an open-access, peer-reviewed philosophical journal established with the specific intention of redirecting phenomenological intentionality. It is our belief that phenomenology is not a mere descriptive practice, but an enactment of critique, that is, an ongoing process of revealing and interrogating the concrete conditions, institutions, and assumptions that structure lived experience, phenomenological inquiry, and thinking. We invite submissions that engage the critical turn of phenomenology via analyses of socio-political phenomena, reflections on the limits and challenges of phenomenological inquiry, or by attending to the history of philosophy, either through its silences or its canonical figures.

Critical phenomenology aims to open up a more focused area of discourse that the works of those such as Maurice Merleau-Ponty, Simone de Beauvoir, Frantz Fanon, Hannah Arendt, and, more recently, Lisa Guenther, Sarah Ahmed, Alia Al-Saji, and Mariana Ortega have opened up through their commitments to an engaged phenomenology. We invite scholars to draw both on classical and contemporary phenomenology in order to join our efforts of broadening the scope and import of phenomenological research.

Section Policies


  • Checked Open Submissions
  • Checked Indexed
  • Checked Peer Reviewed

Peer Review Process

Original articles are first reviewed by an editorial board who recommends acceptance, rejection, or referral for review. Manuscripts from review may be accepted, returned to author for revision or rejected. The editors have the final decision on a submitted manuscript.

Publication Frequency

Puncta publishes once a year in October. Articles are published collectively after the completion of the review and editing process. The deadline for submissions to the journal to be published that year is February 15th. Any submissions received past that deadline will be reviewed the following year for possible inclusion in the next year's issue.

Open Access Policy

We at Puncta are committed to the principles of open access: freely accessible, high quality scholarship. We do not restrict access to our publications, do not have paid subscribers, and do not charge our authors to publish their articles. All of our funding comes from grants and other stipends to ensure the integrity of the journal.

Editorial Board

Debra Bergoffen, American University
Helen Fielding, Western University
Lisa Guenther, Vanderbilt University
Bonnie Mann, University of Oregon
Anne O'Byrne, Stony Brook University
Johanna Oksala, University of Helsinki
Mariana Ortega, John Carroll University 
Gayle Salamon, Princeton University
Beata Stawarska, University of Oregon
Ted Toadvine, Penn State University
Gail Weiss, George Washington University